Wendy and Lucy movie review

After Waltz for Bashir we got food, then looked for a cheery movie in Wendy and Lucy.

Oops.

You can say the movie is a product of the times, and is in theaters at the perfect time. How to survive at the lower strata of society? You can’t go to your job without a car, you can’t get your car fixed without money, you can’t get money without a job, you need your car to get to your job but your car broke down….

Wendy gets stuck. Was she already stuck? Was she trying to break free of being stuck? How can she break free? Is it possible for anyone to get unstuck in Modern American Consumer Capitalistic Society?

I appreciated the slice of life POV of the film, but you really need to be dedicated to ‘Independent Films’ to sit through and enjoy this movie. I wished for a little more meat. Though the big plot twist (kid bullies store manger) didn’t work for me, I gotta think there were ways to weave in a little more for me to chew on.

Again, circumstances perhaps were the most important factor in shaping my opinion, since only an hour earlier I walked out of Waltz With Bashir, so I was looking for more of an upper than Wendy. This wasn’t it; different day, better opinion?

Michelle Williams was good doing what she did, I wanted her to do more I guess. Not more plot, something more. I can’t identify what yet.

~ by 4paul on 2009/02/04.

One Response to “Wendy and Lucy movie review”

  1. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a comment